Four Purposes and Curriculum Structure

The Four Purposes

Recommendation 3 in Successful Futures states that:

The purposes of the curriculum in Wales should be that children and young people develop as:

ambitious, capable learners, ready to learn throughout their lives

enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work

ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world

healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.


The 4 purposes will be at the heart of the new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum.


Curriculum Structure

The curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16.

  • 3 cross curricular responsibilities: Literacy, Numeracy and Digital Competence.

  • Progression Steps (reference points) at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16.

  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression step.


The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive arts.

  • Health and Well-being.

  • Humanities.

  • Languages, Literacy and Communication.

  • Mathematics and Numeracy.

  • Science and Technology